City Council


  • 7:00 pm
  • First and Third Tuesday of each month
  • Council Chambers


City Council Workshops are held:

  • TBA
  • When scheduled.  Will be advertised.
  • Council Chambers

Governing Body

The governing body of Green River consists of a mayor and six elected Council members. The City is divided into three wards, with two council members representing each ward.

Email the Council

Select the name to email the Mayor or a specific Councilmember:

Mayor Pete Rust
307-872-0599 (City Hall)
307-871-3175 (Cell Phone) Term expires 12/31/2026 

Ward I Council MembersWard II Council MembersWard III Council Members
Email Sherry Bushman
Phone: 307-871-6104
Term expires: 12/31/2024
Email George Jost
Phone: 307-872-6152
Term expires: 12/31/2024
Phone: 307-871-0566
Term expires: 12/31/2024
Phone: 307-871-3824
Term expires: 12/31/2026
Phone: 307-871-3756
Term expires: 12/31/2026
Phone: 307-875-6508
Term expires: 12/31/2026

City Council Elections

To run for election to a City Council position a citizen must live within the ward to which election is sought, be properly registered as a Sweetwater County voter, and file an application with the City Clerk at City Hall. By state statute, the filing must be completed within the prescribed deadline. Citizens elect Council members to staggered, four-year terms. There is no limit to the number of terms a Council Member may serve. Council members may also serve on standing committees appointed by the Mayor.

Functions & Duties

The Council's major functions and duties are primarily legislative. Council directs City affairs by passing ordinances or adopting resolutions. Either may be introduced by a Council member at a business meeting, but ideas for them also may originate from citizens or City staff.

The Mayor of Green River is the chief elected official of the City with all the powers and duties of a Council member. The Mayor appoints Council members to inter-agency committees and citizen volunteers to City advisory boards and commissions, with Council approval. The Mayor signs all ordinances and bonds authorized by the Council. The Council elects one of its members as Council President to serve temporarily in the Mayor's absence or disability.